Issuing Authority: State Law Enforcement Division
The State Law Enforcement Division must issue permits to carry handguns to a person who is a resident of South Carolina, or a non-resident who owns property in South Carolina, or military personnel on permanent change of station orders.
1. Age 21 years or older
2. Not prohibited from possessing a firearm
3. Resident of South Carolina, or a non-resident who owns property in South Carolina, or military personnel on permanent change of station orders.
1. One current full face color photograph
2. Proof of residence
3. Proof of actual or corrected 20/40 vision
4. Proof of training
Renewal is available upon payment of a $50 renewal fee, completion of a renewal application and submission of a copy of the applicant’s valid South Carolina driver’s license or South Carolina identification card.
Any person in a vehicle where the handgun is secured in a closed glove compartment, closed console or closed trunk. The handgun may be loaded.Places off-limits when carrying:
A concealed carry permit does not authorize the holder to carry a concealed weapon into a:
1. Law enforcement office or facility.
2. Detention or correctional facility.
3. Courthouse or courtroom.
4. Polling place on election days.
5. Office of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district.
6. School or college athletic event not related to firearms.
7. Day care or pre-school facility.
8. Place where federal law prohibits the carrying of firearms.
9. Medical services facilities.
10. Religious sanctuaries unless express permission is given by an appropriate official.
11. Private property where prohibited by legal owner.Anyone in legal control of property may prohibit the carrying of concealable weapons by posting signs expressing the prohibition at each entrance to the building.Alcohol and Drugs:
Any person convicted of carrying a pistol or firearm onto the premises of a business which sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises shall be subject to an additional penalty of up to 3 years imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine.
It is unlawful to discharge a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance.
States that Honor South Carolina Permit: Check Sled.sc.gov for updates